Skip to main content

Warangal District Divided Into Five

Warangal District

As the date to carve out new districts draws closer, citizens of Warangal are keen to find out if the government goes ahead with the decision to divide the city into two districts. Many were against this proposal.

With favourable signals coming from Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao on creating Jangaon district, it is now appears that Warangal district would be divided into five if there is no change in plan.

However, this decision raises several questions on how Hanamkonda district will be created. It is now decided that Huzurabad will be part of Karimnagar district as against the earlier proposal of being included in Hanamkonda district.

With many mandals joining Jangaon district, speculation is rife that the state government may drop the decision to create Hanamkonda district which drew severe opposition from all sections of society.

Mr Rao may also go ahead with creating five districts from Warangal by creating Warangal urban and rural districts. More clarity is needed as to what changes are going to be made in the district reorganisation process.

The district administration has already worked hard to divide the mandal, revenue division offices, files, finding new buildings for collectorates and other offices, gathering furniture, infrastructure etc.

Even the name boards of new districts are made ready. With the proposal for reorganisation of districts set to change, they are now left with more work accordingly.

Meanwhile, the officials have asserted that the working of the Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation and
the Warangal city police commissioner ate would remain the same. With the new districts set to come into existence from Dasara, Mr Rao is expected to announce the final list of districts soon.