Skip to main content

Layers Of Skin

The outer layer of the skin is called the epidermis. Beneath it is another layer called the dermis. There is a layer of fat called the hypodermis below these two layers. The epidermis protects the layers below from sunburns and minor scratches. The bottom of this layer constantly makes new skin cells. The dermis contains nerves and blood vessels. This layer gives the skin strength, and helps to keep the body cool in summer and warm in winter. The nerves inside this layer send a signal to the brain when you touch something. A cut will bleed only if it is deep enough to reach the dermis.